Tags

,

I’ve been promising to post about Stitch Fix, and it’s finally time!  (If you missed the explanation of what it is, see here.)  My second fix arrived yesterday, and now I get to show off what my stylist sent.  It’s all fine and good to hear about a personal stylist service, but let’s be honest – we all want to see what you really get, right?  Here we go!

First, you get a little letter from your stylist.

LETTER

Now, full disclosure: last month I had a different stylist than I had this month.  And last month, my letter said…nothing. There was no note from the stylist telling me why she chose certain things, and I was a little let down.  But this month, my stylist was Laurie and her note was detailed and personal; it was nice to feel like she chose things specifically for me – thanks, Laurie! And I’m definitely going to request Laurie remain my stylist – I felt like she really nailed the items in terms of my taste.  Now, let’s look at what she sent!  

Benzian Triangle Print Cap Sleeve Blouse, $68

Benzian Triangle Print Cap Sleeve Blouse, $68

This top by Collective Concepts is one I spotted in someone else’s Fix, and pinned to my Stitch Fix board on Pinterest.  Laurie saw it there, and sent it to me because she’s awesome!  But, it doesn’t fit me.  Sigh.  It’s a little too roomy through the bust and too tight through the hip.  Because of my pear shape, shirts that don’t have a split or shirt-tail hem often are too snug across my hips, and that’s what’s happening here.  So, this one is going back.

Angela Skinny Ponte Pant, $98

Angela Skinny Ponte Pant, $98

I requested a colored bottom in my Fix this month, and Laurie sent me these olive green ponte pants.  I love the idea of these pants and the details are great, especially the little zippers on the pockets, but do you see how huge these look?  I’m swimming in them.  If I don’t hold them up, they literally fall down.  Bummer.  Going back.

Zelda Front Pocket Plaid Blouse, $48

Zelda Front Pocket Plaid Blouse, $48

I love a plaid blouse, and Laurie sent me this one because of one I’d pinned on my Stitch Fix board. I like the fit of this top a lot, but the sleeves are too short.  I may have slightly gorilla-like arms.  Also, the colors of this top border on drab and make me look a bit washed out. I prefer more saturated colors.  Going back!

Giuliana Bootcut Jeans, $88

Giuliana Bootcut Jeans, $88

One of my most frequently-worn pairs of jeans are from Kut from the Kloth, so when I saw these pants by them in my box, I was pretty excited.  Laurie described these as a great staple to try and she’s totally right.  They are navy, which keeps them close enough to jeans to make a lot of sense in my wardrobe, but also make them more fun and adaptable than regular ol’ jeans.  They’re too long, but I know how to hem pants so no big deal.  And they are…snugger than I usually wear pants.  But in a flattering and kind of awesome way – they have a lot of stretch so feel like I’m wearing yoga pants.   I tend to wear my pants a little baggy, so to have something that fits this well and feels flattering…well.  I’m pretty sure I’m keeping these!

Lawley Cable Knit Open Cardigan, $68

Lawley Cable Knit Open Cardigan, $68

This sweater is like being hugged by baby angels.  It’s so cozy and warm!  I love the way the collar turns into the pockets, and the color is really vibrant and fall-ish. It reaches to about mid-thigh on me, and with boots and skinnies, it looks perfectly put-together for autumn, but with the cuddle-factor of a Snuggie.  I want to live in this sweater.  Keep!

I was really happy with this Fix even though I’m only keeping two of the items – I felt like the style of the pieces was consistent and really represented what I’ve shown on my board and described in my profile.  Fit is tricky, so I’m cool with having to send things back simply because the fit isn’t right.

So, what do you think? Have you tried Stitch Fix yet?

(This post isn’t sponsored in anyway, but if you do sign up and get a Fix through the link in the post, I will get a credit – just so you know!  I don’t want to be sneaky!  And if you do, thanks!)